Venue:Herbert and Nicole Wertheim Performing Arts Center (Miami) - South Miami-Dade Cultural Arts Center (Miami)

Date: April 5th & 6th 2014 | 6pm

Soloists: Jeff Bradetich and Luis Gomez-Imbert - Basses

Conductor: Daniel Andai

Playbill: Download Playbill

Bach's Brandenburg Concertos are a collection of diverse instrumental pieces, each one requiring a distinctive combination of musical sounds. Prokofiev's First Symphony was greatly influenced by the classical masters, while Garcia's Voces Celestiales showcases the unique textures of the string bass with soloists Jeff Bradetich and Luis Gomez-Imbert. Also featuring World Premiere compositions by Music Director Eduardo Marturet, and Composer-in-Residence Sam Hyken, inspired by student paintings and stories from Overtown's "Touching Miami with Love" program.



Johann Sebastian Bach -“Brandenburg” Concerto No. 1 in F Major, BWV 1046

Orlando Jacinto Garcia -Voces Celestiales for Two Double Basses and Orchestra(world premiere)

5 paintings + 5 stories = Two World Premieres

Sam Hyken- Children’s Stories Suite

Eduardo Marturet- Candy Island “Victory of the Lollipop People”

Sergei Prokofiev -Symphony No. 1 in D Major, Op. 25 “Classical”